Halo 3 Beta spiffiness

If you hadn’t been aware, the giant Halo franchise is about to add yet another game into the fray, to likely conlude a 3-game story arc that, most recently, slipped its fans a mickey by ending Halo 2 with a giant cliffhanger. Well, the multiplayer gurus at Bungie have granted us frag-hungry fans of the famous fingermasher a reprieve by at least creating a Beta edition (a Beta is a test version of a game, usually only reserved for the illustrious Beta Testers to run the game into the ground and report irregularities that don’t show up on the final release) to the public for certain people closely associated with the group.. or whoever buys another game, Crackdown. I bought Crackdown, and on the mega-touted “release day” for the Beta, Microsoft and Bungie bit the big blunder bite by failing to test the fact that the Beta would even correctly download for Crackdown users resulting in a let-down so large, many people have complained that they lost valuable vacation days from work only to end up not even being able to play it! It wasn’t until about 9pm Central US time that the download finally worked, and around 10:30 or later I was set in front of the projector, friend alongside for some Xbox Live action. So here, for the moment, are some shots of the action that I myself recorded and posted to YouTube. They were taken with the game’s in-game session-recording feature, then played back and recorded thence with my digital camera (and I have higher quality versions stored locally) that turned out little better than “eh.. ok”. Here are a few highlights of those first few days of frenzied fraggery. First there’s a moment where I (top) get splattered by a passing Ghost (driven by my guest, bottom) and sliiiiide out into the snow surrounding the Snowbound level and eventually pass the normally impossible to pass invisible barrier of the level. Secondly, a similar incident whereby my flailing body passes said barrier but goes into some wacky kind of glitchy elasticity where various appendages beging to stretch in a wicked crazy manner. Thirdly, whilst passing innocently by the open main gate of ___ I get splattered by an oncoming Warthog and whimsically ricochet off a nearby barrier that I just thought was funny (the ricochet, not the barrier). Fourthly comes quite possibly the shortest splatter spree ever (which is now a medal, btw) when my guest splatters me for the medal, just as a latch a Brute shrapnel grenade onto his ghost and blast him out of it, for a Killjoy medal (ending a killing spree) in return. Fifth, using the new Bruteshot, I embed a few projectiles into partymate GM80 and with a quick uppercut using the sharp end, send him flying up into the air, after which his dead MC actually lands on his feet before toppling over. Lastly and my favorite, I manage get my first 3-medals-at-once combo, by managing a double-kill from the grave. Yeah, I’m aware the video quality isn’t all that great =P

Leave a Reply

